Career Moves…

20130311-102010.jpg

As a newly Graduated Registered Nurse I had wild dreams. I had plans to work in the adult system for a couple of years, try and get a job in a kids hospital in a critical care area and then move onto NETS. All I had to do was get through my New Grad year and then look for a position in an Intensive Care Unit.

8 years later and I’m working in a large Sydney based Emergency Department. My dreams of being a Paediatric Intensive Care Nurse have fizzled out. And to tell you the truth… Nursing little kidlets in the ED isn’t my favourite part.

Flash back to 2004: I had gained a position as a New Graduate Registered Nurse in a small district hospital. I was excited and anxious to start my new career. The New Graduate program I had enrolled in rotated me through a series of specialities. New Graduate or Transitional Nurse programs are supervised and heavily supported programs aimed to help the newly registered nurse “transition” into a knowledgable, confident, competent practitioner.

My New Grad year had me placed in a Neurology/Stroke ward for 3 months, Cardiology for 3 months, the Emergency Department for 3 months and finally in the Intensive Care Unit for 3 months. I ended up loving the ED, much to my surprise and I finished my New Grad year with a job offer as well!

Eight years later I’m still going. I’ve done and seen a lot. A lot. And now I’ve reached a crossroads. There are two pathways I can take in order to progress. Do I go into management or education? Neither really appeal to me and the thought of further study in order to move down these paths doesn’t overwhelm me. So where to now?

Do I bite the bullet, suck it up and just enrol in a Masters degree in management or education? Do I stay in ED? Do I stay in Nursing?

A career change is out of the question. I feel I’m too old to start again and can’t see myself doing anything other than Nursing and enrolling in another uni degree that I’m not really excited about is just silly. It’s a large expense in money and time that ill probably end up dropping out of anyway. So maybe move from ED?

Midwifery has interested me since I registered but I put it on the back burner for years as I was loving ED. After having the boys, my interest has been renewed. Is a specialty change in my near future? Will I love it? Will I LIKE it? Can I manage the boys, a house, a husband and full time study? Time will tell.

Linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT

20130311-102453.jpg

15 thoughts on “Career Moves…

  1. Zanni Arnot

    It’s always a big question. At some point, I was studying psychology, working and raising children. It was challenging. But I think, if you balance things, and make sure you make time for relaxation and fun, anything’s possible. Good luck! x

    Reply
  2. Rachel

    I was going to start my Master in Communciations this year but decided to start a blog instead! It’s a problem though – there are so many choices and paths that we COULD venture down but we definitely can’t do it all. I hope the answer presents itself soon and that when it does you know immediately that it’s the right one for you πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. leighleigh22 Post author

      Thanks for the support. I’m sure the right decision will present itself. At the moment though, my focus is at home. While I love my job, I feel like “I’m just going to work”, going through the motions, on autopilot almost. We’ll get there. It’ll just take some time.
      Thanks for dropping by! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Have a laugh on me

    Wow that is a tough decision to make Leigh. You must have seen your fair share of all sorts of good/bad/sad/crazy over the years. I suppose you have to make the decision based on if you are able to or want to sacrifice a lot to go back and study. It’s a tough decision. Good luck πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. leighleigh22 Post author

      Yeah, I know Em. It’ll mean I’ll need A LOT of support from home and a few sacrifices along the way. There are plenty of other people out there that do it – and get through it. The right time and opportunity will present itself. Thanks πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. leighleigh22 Post author

      Thanks, it’s a decision that’s been a long time coming. Hopefully things all fall into place and I’m able to make it happen! Thanks for dropping by! X

      Reply
    1. leighleigh22 Post author

      Thanks for the support. It’s looking like a real possibility. We’ll just have to wait and see what the rest of the year holds for us. Thanks for dropping by! X

      Reply
  4. Bernadette

    I know exactly where you are coming from luv! I feel exactly the same… do I stay in Community, go back to ED (can one ever go back??), move forward to something new or leave nursing altogether… Im kinda going with wait and see what opportunities present and see what looks tempting and hopefully it will all eventually work into a long term plan! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. leighleigh22 Post author

      Sounds like the way to go. There won’t be any major decisions made for us until next year. I don’t think I could do anything other than nursing. I can’t imagine it. For now its just a waiting game, do some education to keep my registration and re-evaluate closer to the end of the year. Good luck though, could you ever go back to ED?

      Reply
  5. Imelda Evans

    Sometimes you don’t know until you give it a try. I have a friend who recently moved out of a lifetime career in midwifery into primary teaching. Now that’s a change! But she started by looking at a change of nursing specialty. It was only by trying that she realised that wasn’t really what she was after. Not suggesting you will have such a big change! Just that sometimes the thinking doesn’t get you all the way and you have to close your eyes and jump. Good luck with it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

