Explosive prams

Saturday Morning. I’ve just finished work. I’m exhausted, have just managed to get home from work without crashing my shiny new car. All I want to do is go to bed.

Handy Hubby suggests that we head down to his old primary school’s fete. Take the boys, tire them out and be home by about lunch time.

Even though I was dog tired, I gave in. I would normally only sleep for a few hours after my last night shift anyway. It would be good for the boys to get out of the house and Saturday was shaping up to being a lovely day!

After a quick shower, we pack the kids up and throw them in the car. We head on down to the fete. It’s busy, seems like everyone in the area has come to the fete. There are kids EVERYWHERE!

As always there’s the cake stands, the sausage sizzle and games stalls but this is a fete with a difference!

There’s carnival games, a huge slippery slide (you know the ones you need a hessian sack for?), a massive book stall, a cafe AND coffee van (Heaven!), 2nd hand clothes stall, fairy floss stall, hairdresser and stage for showcasing the local talent. Oh my!

It would’ve been a good day. Would have.

As soon as we walked into the school grounds, the front tyre on the pram explodes! Rendering the whole thing useless. We couldn’t keep using it without potentially doing more damage and Mr Giggles was freaking out every time we tried to push it because we had to lay the pram back and lift up the front wheel. Just what I need!

We manage to find a replacement tyre at a local baby store and head on out. Mean while my eyes are hanging out of my head and my mood is getting worse by the second. We eventually make it home, and I make it to bed for a few hours.

Not sure why the tyre exploded but I have a distinct feeling it had something to do with Handy Hubby being “helpful” and filling the tyres with air…

As always, linking up with Jess for #IBOT

20130319-080006.jpg

10 thoughts on “Explosive prams

  1. coloursofsunset

    the fete sounds fantastic! I don’t think N’s school does anything like that! Sucks about the tyre but glad you could find a replacement one. Sometimes the “handy hubbies” are less than handy! -Aroha (#teamIBOT)

    Reply
    1. leighleigh22 Post author

      This school has an annual one. But your right, they are few and far between. I’m just grateful that we could get the pram fixed so quickly! Thanks for popping in! x

      Reply
    1. Rachel

      OMG Lisa I read abut YOUR family adventure earlier but was reading on my phone so couldn’t comment (doesn’twork for some stupid reason). I’m going to head back there and comment but DAMN woman that was one shit-house day you had!!

      Reply
  2. Rachel

    Man I thought i’d heard of everything after 10 years of parenting but I have never, ever heard a of a pram wheel exploding!! Your handy hubby is obviously a little too handy LOL 🙂 Well done for not losing it considering how exhausted you must have been.

    Reply
    1. leighleigh22 Post author

      I have the distinct impression (aka I know) that Handy Hubby over inflated the tyre. I was very close to losing it, his only saving grace was that we were in public! Lol
      Thanks for dropping by! x

      Reply
  3. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions

    Fete sounds excellent! Exploding pram tyre? Not so much! We have had bad luck with prams, once I left the pram on the road after putting Mia in the car and drove off, then the same pram, whch I had thankfully managed to get back, had one of its tyres just snap straight off! Our latest stroller Dave has busted the clip that holds it together because rather than look a little closer and open his eyes to find the clip, he just busted the bloody thing open! So annoying!

    #teamIBOT was here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

